The Five Model Components of ANCC's Magnet Recognition Program - Crozer-Keystone Health System - PA

The Five Model Components of ANCC's Magnet Recognition Program®

  1. Transformational Leadership
    Nurse Executive Council and Nursing Management Council
    • Vision, influence, clinical knowledge and strong expertise relating to nursing practice.
    • Creates the systems and environment to achieve the vision.
    • May create turbulence and involve innovative solutions.
    • Listens, challenges, influences and affirms the transformation.
  2. Structural Empowerment
    Unit-Based Councils
    • Provides a place where professional practice flourishes.
    • Reflects community relationships and partnerships, improving health and patient outcomes within the community.
    • Develops and empowers staff to accomplish organizational goals and desired outcomes.  
  3. Exemplary Professional Practice 
    Nursing Education and Professional Development
    • Reflects comprehensive understanding of nursing’s role.
    • Depicts how nurses practice, collaborate, communicate and develop professionally to provide the highest quality care for patients, families and the community they serve.
    • Involves the application of new knowledge and evidence.
    • Includes nurses’ collaboration in the staffing and scheduling process as well as collaborative work with interdisciplinary partners to achieve high-quality patient outcomes.
  4. New Knowledge, Innovation and Improvements 
    Nurse Practice & Research Councils - Involves redesigning and redefining systems and practices based on:
    • New models of care.
    • Application of existing and new evidence.
    • Visible contributions to the science of nursing. 
  5. Empirical Quality Results
    Nursing Education and Professional Development
    • Quality indicators
    • Gathering data
    • National benchmarking
    • Research and implementation of best practices”
    • Monitor outcomes